The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) ended the Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula for clinician payment, and established a quality payment incentive program -- the Quality Payment Program. This program provides clinicians with two ways to participate: through Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs) and the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS).
These programs are about improving the quality of patient care and overall outcomes through:
  • The Merit based Incentive Program (MIPS)
  • Advanced Alternative Payment Models (advanced APMs)


CMS continues to update and streamline these programs as part of the Patients over Paperwork Initiative. For 2020, there will be changes in the number of points required to avoid a negative payment adjustment, as well as the MIPS category weights.

   2019 2020(proposed)
Quality  45%  40% 
Cost 15% 20%
Promoting Interoperability 25% 25%
Improvement Activities 15% 15%


Practice Provider can assist in helping your practice navigate the Quality Payment Program guidelines to ensure compliance and financial incentives are met, and that there are no future negative adjustments to Medicare reimbursement. 

Speak with one of our consultants and get a better understanding of what MACRA means to you and how you can implement patient-centered care concepts that are right for your practice.  Call us today.